Kidney Bowls......

An archive of any Porsche 911 technical threads

Moderators: hot66, impmad2000, Barry, Viv_Surby, Derek, Mike Usiskin

sprintstar67
DDK above all

Kidney Bowls......

Post by sprintstar67 »

OK, friend of mine has just sold his really really nice 3.2 Carrera for what could best be described as "top money", a car which he has lavished love and attention on and looked after with no expense spared. It was essentially an immaculate car.
Guy who bought it inspected it himself and agreed, but has since taken it to have some work done and discovered that apparently the kidney bowl area is in need of replacement.
Now, being a classic car trader myself and being pretty well up on the Sale of Goods Act, I know the buyer really has no come back at all, but being an honourable chap, my friend thinks that meeting him part way on the cost is the best option.
So, here lies my question, whats your experience of and prices at various places please, so he has a good idea what the score is!

Cheers, Andy.
'62 Bug Karmann Cabrio (the GCC car)
'67 Bug
'99 Mexican Bug
'67 Split Crew Cab
'76 MGB Roadster
'90 MX5
'79 911 SC Targa
'72 Fiat 124 Spider
'73 Eriba Familia
'03 Chesil Speedster
'03 BMW 330D Touring
'97 Disco
Gary71
Nurse, I think I need some assistance

Post by Gary71 »

Caveat emptor...:) He should have had it inspected by someone who knows where to look.

Trouble is if the kidney bowls are gone you need to take the rear quarter off to replace them... Then you find the b pillar, sill and jacking points aren't long for this world and... you get the idea!

I'm not going to mention a cost as I do not know, but it will soon add up to a significant number.
Nick Moss

Post by Nick Moss »

Guy who bought it inspected it himself and agreed
He inspected it, approved it and bought it. Unless the car was unroadworthy that's the end of the story. To get it fixed properly is £1500 per side.
Nick Moss - early911.co.uk - Fuchs refurbishment
07980 017994
nick@early911.co.uk