Brake pads for standard set up.

For all you Porsche 914 fanatics!

Moderators: drummerboytom, MdR

Dean.s
DDK slapper chatter

Brake pads for standard set up.

Post by Dean.s »

As the pagid pads have been cooked due to the seized caliper i'm looking for new pads.

What are people using on standard brake set ups? I've found ebc coloured pads but i've not used them before.

Pad suggestiins appreciated.
1974 Porsche 914
914 KEV
DDK rules my life!

Re: Brake pads for standard set up.

Post by 914 KEV »

I have been using EBC Green Stuff for over 20 years and they work well on the standard set up and using the 914 for driving on roads.
The other advantage over standard and other performance brake pads is that the EBC Green Stuff brake dust is less harmful to wheel rims and the brakes pads do not contain ferrous metals which can damage wheels rims.
I do not want my wheel rims to be covered in black brake dust and brown dust caused by rust from the ferrous metals in brake pads that then it sticks to the wheel rims and then is a very hard job to remove once baked on.

Fronts are DP2104 (The 73 model year onwards could use a fatter pad, but EBC do not make a fatter Green Stuff pad over the standard thickness) and rears are DP2105 and will require one hole per pad to be drilled out to except the fat brake pad retaining pin.
914 Daily driver since 1990
neilbardsley
Nurse, I think I need some assistance

Post by neilbardsley »

Kevin someone recommended the yellow pads to me. Have you used them?

Sent from my M2004J19C using Tapatalk
“A REMINDER. I would be grateful if those members who have borrowed bits from me in emergencies (e.g starter motor, oil cooler, etc) would return them and/or contact me”. – Chris Turner RIP
KS

Post by KS »

I, too, use the EBC 'Green'...
Keith Seume
Follow on Instagram @orange914
My YouTube channel
914 KEV
DDK rules my life!

Post by 914 KEV »

neilbardsley wrote:Kevin someone recommended the yellow pads to me. Have you used them?