Moderator: Miggs

Huds71j
DDK Seasoned Poster

Chain Tensioner upgrade

Post by Huds71j »

Hi all

I'm a newbie to actually posting anything so hello one & all

I'm in the process of restoring a 71 Targa

It was a bit of a barn find as the previous owner bought it with no motor or box in 2013 and never did anything to it

I've sourced a 75K mile 2.2 motor and am in the process of rebuilding it however i would like a bit of advice if anyone can?

Is there an easy way to identify if my motor has the old style of cam chain tensions (part numbers from them are 1.901.105.049.2 & 901.105.519.0R ??

Thanks in advance
tim69s
DDK above all

Re: Chain Tensioner upgrade

Post by tim69s »

They are the early chain tensioners.
The later mechanical ones have a 930 part number and so do the oil fed ones.
Just happen to have all 3 types kicking about my work bench so here is a pic.

Left is an early 901 type with safety collar still on it.
Middle is a mechanical 930 type, note the thinner end section on the arm.
Right is an oil fed 'carrera' tensioner.

If you have the Dempsey engine rebuild book he goes into the differences.
If you don't have the book, highly recommend getting a copy.

Good luck
Tim

Sent from my Pixel 4 using Tapatalk
Huds71j
DDK Seasoned Poster

Post by Huds71j »

That's awesome ... only problem is it looks like i'll have to get my hand in my pocket and upgrade them !!
bjmullan
Me and DDK sitting in a tree! KISSING

Post by bjmullan »

A lot of people (including me) would recommend the 930 style tensioner rather than going for the oil feed one.
Brendan
1969 911T
2007 2.7 Boxster

Pray, hope and don't worry - Padre Pio
alastairp
DDK above all

Post by alastairp »

bjmullan wrote:A lot of people (including me) would recommend the 930 style tensioner rather than going for the oil feed one.
With chainsaver collars of course.
Gary71
Nurse, I think I need some assistance

Post by Gary71 »

alastairp wrote: