Ooops - need a new oil pressure pipe, the long expensive one

For classic Porsche 911 content

Moderators: hot66, impmad2000, Barry, Viv_Surby, Derek, Mike Usiskin

deano
I luv DDK!

Ooops - need a new oil pressure pipe, the long expensive one

Post by deano »

Don't suppose anyone has one of these going spare for a T,E,S engine? There are a few on Ebay USA, but thought I would try here first. Unfortunately, mine snapped in two because I didnt disconnect it before my engine drop - big ooops, and regrets! I've never done that before :roll: :cry:

Can be seen below from the PET; its the one that goes from the bottom of the oil tank (large nut) with a short hose section that crimps to a hard pipe that curves under the bell housing and around to the front lower left side of the engine....

Potentially, I suppose, this might be repaired in situ by Dremel'ing off the hose/crimp on the end of the hard pipe, shortening the flexible hose to the oil tank and fitting a short hard pipe into the end, then joining the two hard pipes together with new hose (and hoping that the diameters are a close match!).

Have one spare or any thoughts on the repair?
Attachments
OilTankPressurePipe.JPG
Dean
1973T Targa MFI 334 met blu- under restoration https://www.ddk-online.com/phpBB2/viewt ... 28&t=67060
1980 924 Turbo, blu/grn tartan - restored
DEEMAN
DDK forever

Re: Ooops - need a new oil pressure pipe, the long expensive

Post by DEEMAN »

You have PM
BILLY BEAN
DDK 1st, 2nd and 3rd for me!

Post by BILLY BEAN »

What thread size 26mm (up to1971 MY) and 1972 on is 30mm x 1.5mm. I have the latter.
Rust Never Sleeps
inaglasshouse

Post by inaglasshouse »

How wedded are you to the original look?
Later years don't have the hard pipe. Instead it's flexible all the way and goes over the gearbox. More robust, as you have found. It's very easy to make a fully flexi replacement from Mocal or Aeroquip standard parts for minimal cost.