Donington Historic Festival for the first time. Tips? Meet?

Any Porsche events or other related car events you know of please post them here

Moderators: hot66, Helen, abm914

Black Betty
DDK slapper chatter

Donington Historic Festival for the first time. Tips? Meet?

Post by Black Betty »

Okay guys,

I will be visiting the Donington Historic Festival ( http://www.doningtonhistoric.com/ ; on the 4th, 5th and 6th of May) this year for the first time.

I have been planning for this trip for quite some time now, bought tickets and booked the ferry a few months ago. Initially there were more than 8 fellow Dutch (and Belgian) petrolheads that were interested; unfortunately all -for lots of different reasons- can't join me, so I will be visiting alone...

So, because it's my first time to Donington Historic Festival I have a few questions for my fellow DDK-ers:

- are there any tips, must sees or must do's?
- are there any DDK-ers visiting?
- if you do, would you appreciate meeting?

Although I will be visiting alone, I'm really lookin' forward to this trip. I always enjoy visiting GB (this year 3 times Goodwood and in July I will be doing the North Coast 500)...

Greetings,
Antoine

It's better to burn out, than to fade away
BILLY BEAN
DDK 1st, 2nd and 3rd for me!

Re: Donington Historic Festival for the first time. Tips? Me

Post by BILLY BEAN »

Access to the event, is in my experience, usually trouble free with little queuing. The event has open paddock and pit garages so you can get up close to all cars. Usually you will not be able to take your own car into the in-field unless you have booked in conjunction with a recognised car club. If you have not done so then you will park in the public car park (a field). There are plenty of good places to view the racing including a small grandstand.