912 in Dorset - help needed in restoration project!

For you flat four Porsche 912 fanatics

Moderators: Miggs, KS

newto912
DDK addict

912 in Dorset - help needed in restoration project!

Post by newto912 »

Dear all
I have just brought home a 1966 912
in need of restoration, minimal rust but needs work to get it going, trim missing etc
there are a few bits missing such as ignition coil and a few wires not connected, petrol tank needs connecting and probably other things I havent considered.
This is my first project and although I am fairly practical, I am sure there will be a steep learning curve!
As the car is incomplete I was wondering if there are any local 912 owners
It would be nice to have a look at a complete engine bay and see where various wires go, how the fuel sender is connected , and a few other things etc
Thanks in advance
Andrew
1966 912 LHD
1980 911 SC Targa
1969 912 RHD in process of restoration
Nine One One
Put a fork in me, I'm done!

Re: 912 in Dorset - help needed in restoration project!

Post by Nine One One »

Speak to Alan at Canford Classics, who is a member on here, and an excellent reputation - They are in Winterborne in Dorset
http://www.canfordclassics.co.uk/contacts/

They have restored quite a few 912’s
chris hak
DDK slapper chatter

Post by chris hak »

Yep, being in Dorset you are in luck, Alan's your man. He's at Winterborne Kingston, about 5 miles from Dorchester. He recently re-commissioned one of the most original (and best) 912's in existance so what he doesn't know about them...(etc.)
3.2 Carrera
Flat 4 McCor
DDK Seasoned Poster

Post by Flat 4 McCor »

Feel free to pop round my garage and have a look at my car, it's all standard and will be a good guide for you. If that's any use to you let me know and I'll send you my address (Shaftesbury)
Glen

1965 Beetle
1967 912 coupe
Barwaut
DDK Fanatic

Post by Barwaut »

Touring all of the south coast of the UK this Easter....
'67 912 White Black Coupe