Fuel Safe Racing Fuel Cell Question

Replica owners or enthusiasts are very welcome

Moderator: Bootsy

greg356a
I luv DDK!

Fuel Safe Racing Fuel Cell Question

Post by greg356a »

Hope someone can help,

I have fitted a fuel safe cell and need to weld a new filler to the top plate as below;

If I remove the plate is there some sort of encapsulated nut/plate arrangement underneath that keeps every thing in place? I dont think it will just all drop through but just wondered if anyone had tried this before? I have sent two emails to the manufacturer but nothing back

cheers
1963 Karmann Ghia
1959 356A Coupe Outlaw
1957 3.2 Speedster replica
mdmax72
Put a fork in me, I'm done!

Re: Fuel Safe Racing Fuel Cell Question

Post by mdmax72 »

That's right Greg.

I'm no expert on these but the ones I've seen the top is just the filler plate. Once you take that of you'll see the bladder with foam inside it. You could take it of and weld it or you could weld a flat ring to the bottom of the filler neck and mechanically bolt it on. That way no heat is introduced the the filler plate, just in case in distorts with the heat??

Are you going for an under bonnet filler?
Rich

DDK Member 0547

Evolving Speedster Build ;-)
greg356a
I luv DDK!

Post by greg356a »

Hi Rich,

I think you are right, but will remove the plate slowly just to see.

The plan is to go for the through the bonnet filler and the modification you said. My only issue is that the tank sits in front of the bulkhead which is more forward than original. The filler will sit more central on the bonnet which may look odd, what do you think???