Strange request for advice

Chat away, Classic Porsche related or otherwise

Moderators: hot66, Miggs, 58A - 71E, impmad2000, drummerboytom, Barry, Helen, Viv_Surby, Derek, KS, abm914, Mike Usiskin

abzadams
DDK rules my life!

Strange request for advice

Post by abzadams »

Not P car related but vehicle all the same.

I have been haveing this saga for over 2 years now, and am really wondering what to do next!

I bought a private reg for my mother for her 50th birthday, unfortuntaly she got rushed to hospital and subsiquently died just before her birthday. So I inherrited the plate. I ran it on a car some some time and decided to change the car. I was telling a friend of a friend about selling it and he said he wanted to look at it - and then bought it the next day. I told him the plate was not going with the car and he agreed to take the car and we would change it over.

I have been chasing this guy for 2 years to get the plate back and in January he called to say that he had blown the engine and if I wanted the plate he needed my V5 and £80 transfer fee, which I sent him straight away. I phoned him on an average of twice a week to see where we were at with it and he never returned my calls.

Fast forward to yesterday when he finally rang to say that the plate can not be transferred because the car has been SORN since January and the MOT ran out in Feb!

Does anyone know if there is anyway I can get the plate back, now that the MOT has expired? DVLA say a car needs an MOT to be able to transfer the plate.

TIA
Rich

Sepia 72 2.5T/E (gone)
2004 996 Turbo
Gary71
Nurse, I think I need some assistance

Post by Gary71 »

You need an MOT :(

Sounds like your 'friend' has stiffed you. Good friend :evil:
cubist
The Fenland Feltcher

Post by cubist »