Which welder shall I buy? You there Barry?

Chat away, Classic Porsche related or otherwise

Moderators: hot66, Miggs, 58A - 71E, impmad2000, drummerboytom, Barry, Helen, Viv_Surby, Derek, KS, abm914, Mike Usiskin

sladey
Nurse, I think I need some assistance

Which welder shall I buy? You there Barry?

Post by sladey »

It's my birthday coming up. I want to buy a welder. I don't have much to spend on it - say £150/200 tops

What would people recommend? I know you can buy second hand stuff and I'm all in favour of that but I've got no idea what I'm looking at.

I've seen the adverts for the new ones - but you seem to get 8 different models that all look the same but have different amp ratings (and therefore price points). Some say Gas turbo MIG, Inverter arc, Gasless turbo, stick rod, etc - not really clear what all these mean and which would suit me as a complete novice (obviously I've had a go with Barry's slapper but apart from that I'm a novice)

Initially I'm looking to just learn how to use it and do some basic bodywork repairs (got some cracking near the rear ARB). It would be nice to get something that will last me longer than 6 months.

Thanks for any help
The simple things you see are all complicated
I look pretty young but I'm just backdated yeah
Gary71

Post by Gary71 »

I've been through this one Mark, same budget etc.

Bottom line is that if you want something worthy of the name welder you need to spend double your budget and then some.

I bought a Portamig:

Not this one, but similar a 215 amp Mig.

Great machine. I am the limiting factor, not the kit.

If you only want occasional use then rent one :)
sladey

Post by sladey »

Thanks for that Gary - bit too rich for me at the moment though - I need to be satisfied I'm going to use it before I spend that much - I need to get something closer to my budget and then trade up in a year or two
Nige

Post by Nige »